Mercury vs. Omega-3s for Brain Development

4 years ago by NutritionFactsOrg, NutritionFacts.org

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger's videos at:
http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates

DESCRIPTION: Risk/benefit analysis of 33 fish species contrasts the brain boosting effects of DHA with the brain damaging effects of mercury to determine the net effect on intelligence (IQ).

What was that about smaller brains? See my last video, Fish Consumption Associated With Brain Shrinkage (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/fish-consumption-associated-with-brain-shrinkage). More on the effect on teens in my video Nerves of Mercury (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/nerves-of-mercury/).

More on PCBs in:

• How Fast Can Children Detoxify from PCBs? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-fast-can-children-detoxify-from-pcbs)
• Food Sources of PCB Chemical Pollutants (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/food-sources-of-pcb-chemical-pollutants/)
• The Wrong Way to Detox (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-wrong-way-to-detox)
• Is Distilled Fish Oil Toxin-Free? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-distilled-fish-oil-toxin-free/)

The "package deal" concept is a recurring one (see, for example, New Mineral Absorption Enhancers Found, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/new-mineral-absorption-enhancers-found/). Yes, dairy products are the #1 source of calcium in the U.S., but they're also the #1 source of saturated fat. Thankfully there's a way to get calcium without all this baggage and the same with DHA (and iron, and protein, and...).
It is a rare circumstance where I recommend supplements, but there is at least one (vitamin B12) that is critical for those eating plant-based diets. My latest summary of recommendations can be found here (http://nutritionfacts.org/2011/09/12/dr-gregers-2011-optimum-nutrition-recommendations/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/mercury-vs-omega-3s-for-brain-development/ and he'll try to answer it!