Eggs and Choline: Something Fishy

4 years ago by NutritionFactsOrg, NutritionFacts.org

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger's videos at:
http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates

DESCRIPTION: Too much choline, a compound concentrated in eggs and other animal products, can make bodily secretions smell like rotting fish and may increase the risk of heart disease due to conversion in the gut to trimethylamine.

I previously did a more in depth dive into the choline issue in Carnitine, Choline, Cancer and Cholesterol: The TMAO Connection (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/carnitine-choline-cancer-and-cholesterol-the-tmao-connection/). More on eggs and cholesterol in Egg Cholesterol in the Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/egg-cholesterol-in-the-diet/) and Avoiding Cholesterol Is a No Brainer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/avoiding-cholesterol-is-a-no-brainer/).

More Freedom of Information Act juiciness in Eggs and Cholesterol: Patently False and Misleading Claims (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/eggs-and-cholesterol-patently-false-and-misleading-claims/), Eggs vs. Cigarettes in Atherosclerosis (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/eggs-vs-cigarettes-in-atherosclerosis/), and my latest live presentation More Than an Apple a Day: Combating Common Diseases (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/more-than-an-apple-a-day-preventing-our-most-common-diseases/).

What else might make you smell fishy? See Bacterial Vaginosis and Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/bacterial-vaginosis-and-diet/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/eggs-and-choline-something-fishy/ and he'll try to answer it!