Testing Your Diet with Pee & Purple Cabbage

4 years ago by NutritionFactsOrg, NutritionFacts.org

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger's videos at:
http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates

DESCRIPTION: Plant-based diets tend to be alkaline-forming. This may help protect muscle mass and reduce the risk of gout and kidney stones. The pH of one's urine can be estimated with natural pigments using kitchen chemistry.

Now I have low-flow toilet, so there's very little water in the bowel to start with. The effect might not be as dramatic if diluted in a larger quantity of water. More bathroom chemistry can be found in Pretty in Pee-nk (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/pretty-in-pee-nk/) and Asparagus Pee (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/asparagus-pee/).

What does acid have to do with bones? You might have missed the prequel to this video, Alkaline Diets, Animal Protein, & Calcium Loss (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/alkaline-diets-animal-protein-and-calcium-loss).

How else can we protect our muscles? We can eat healthy enough to avoid statin drugs (see Statin Muscle Toxicity, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/statin-muscle-toxicity/) and the neurotoxins that can cause movement disorders (Muscle Tremors & Diet, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/muscle-tremors-diet/).

Superfood Bargains (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/superfood-bargains-2/) is the video in which purple cabbage takes the gold, though it was unseated in Biggest Nutrition Bang for Your Buck (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/biggest-nutrition-bang-for-your-buck/).

Why do I always go on and on about dark green leafy vegetables? Check out my 58 videos on greens (http://nutritionfacts.org/topics/greens/) and find out!

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/alkaline-diets-animal-protein-and-calcium-loss/ and he'll try to answer it!