Fukushima and Radioactivity in Seafood

4 years ago by NutritionFactsOrg, NutritionFacts.org

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger's videos at:

DESCRIPTION: The majority of radioactive fallout from the Fukushima nuclear power plant tragedy was absorbed by the Pacific Ocean. What does that mean for seafood safety?

Unfortunately our oceans have become humanity's sewers; everything eventually flows down into the sea. This has implications for other aspects of seafood safety:

• Food Sources of Perfluorochemicals (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/food-sources-of-perfluorochemicals/)
• Food Sources of Flame Retardant Chemicals (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/food-sources-of-flame-retardant-chemicals/)
• Hair Testing for Mercury Before Considering Pregnancy (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/hair-testing-for-mercury-before-considering-pregnancy/)
• Obesity-Causing Pollutants in Food (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/obesity-causing-pollutants-in-food/)
• A Fine Kettle of Fluoxetine (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/a-fine-kettle-of-fluoxetine/)
• Dioxins in the Food Supply (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dioxins-in-the-food-supply/)

More on infertility in:

• Xenoestrogens & Sperm Counts (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/xenoestrogens-sperm-counts/)
• Meat Hormones & Female Infertility (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/meat-hormones-female-infertility/)
• Soy Hormones & Male Infertility (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/soy-hormones-male-infertility/)

Cigarette manufacturers' protection of stockholders over the public is not unique to that sector. More industry hijinks in:

• Eggs vs. Cigarettes in Atherosclerosis (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/eggs-vs-cigarettes-in-atherosclerosis/)
• Dietary Supplement Snake Oil (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dietary-supplement-snake-oil/)
• Dietary Guidelines: Pushback From the Sugar, Salt, and Meat Industries (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dietary-guidelines-pushback-from-the-sugar-salt-and-meat-industries/)
• Food Industry "Funding Effect" (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/food-industry-funding-effect/)
• Egg Industry Blind Spot (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/egg-industry-blind-spot/)

The greatest radiation exposure risk comes not from Fukishima fallout or the polonium naturally found in seafood, but from doctors. Stay tuned for my next video, Cancer Risk from CT Scan Radiation (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/cancer-risk-from-ct-scan-radiation/). If you sign up (http://nutritionfacts.us5.list-manage.com/subscribe?u=c1bae6687e1e6ab175fb56913&id=40f9e497d1) for daily, weekly, or monthly updates I'll email when new videos are released.

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/http://nutritionfacts.org/video/fukushima-and-radioactivity-in-seafood/ and he'll try to answer it!